Call for nominations for the WAAVP Peter Nansen Young Scientist Award



The aim of the WAAVP Peter Nansen Young Scientist Award is to reward innovative and outstanding work by promising young professionals in the field of veterinary parasitology. The award will be presented at the WAAVP Conferences, next time in New Orleans, Louisiana, USA, August 10-14th, 2003.  In addition to a cash prize, the award covers the registration fee, economy travel costs and accommodation for the recipient to attend the Conference.  If not a registered member, the recipient will receive a two-year membership in the WAAVP.


Nominations should be made by both a proposer and a seconder (neither of these the candidate), and a portfolio consisting of the following documents:

(i) a detailed statement describing the innovative nature, and excellence of the work by the young professional (max. 2 pages).  This statement should be signed jointly by the proposer and the seconder, or each may submit a separate statement

(ii) a Curriculum Vitae, including a list of publications.


The permission of the nominee is not required, and the nominee need not be aware of her/his nomination.


In order to qualify for the award the Nominee should be a younger professional, with a Master of Science (or equivalent) or higher level degree, aged 40 or younger at the time of nomination for the prize and working in the area of veterinary parasitology.


A Management Committee, appointed by the WAAVP Executive Committee, will evaluate nominated candidates, irrespective of gender, religion, and/or geographical origin.  Nominations are only valid for the year in which they are made, but this does not preclude re-nomination of unsuccessful candidates in subsequent years.  A candidate may only receive the award once.  Serving members of the MC are barred from being nominated themselves or from proposing or seconding someone else.

Deadline for nominations:
1 February 2003


Successful nominee notified:
1 April 2003


Nominations should be mailed before the deadline to:

Ann R. Donoghue

Secretary/Treasurer WAAVP

PR Pharmaceuticals, Inc

1716 Heath ParkwayFort Collins CO 80524




Further Information:

Contact: Dr. Michael Larsen

Chairman of the WAAVP Management Committee for the Peter Nansen Young Scientist Award